The American robin family is back to nest!

Last year a pair of American robins (Turdus migratorius) built a nest on the crook of our gutter. It seemed like an ideal location. It was sheltered by a large overhang, a raccoon or squirrel would have to shimmy up two stories of gutter pipe or shimmy almost horizontally down from the roof. Their first brood was a meal for one of the barred owls (Strix varia) that live in our area.

I love owls and robins both but I’ll admit I cried for the robin family. It was because I had seen them gather insects and worms dozens and dozens of times a day from sunrise to sunset to feed their little ones. I hope the owls were able to feed their babies with the robins to raise a successful brood themselves.

They were able to successfully raise a second brood but I was at work when they fledged so I wasn’t able to see it. Maybe I will this year.

One of my daughters walked into the living room, saw me on the floor, laughed, and took some photos.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.